Home Golf Fields finalized for Olympic men’s and women’s golf competitions

Fields finalized for Olympic men’s and women’s golf competitions


The fields have been finalized for the Olympic men’s and women’s golf competitions, the International Golf Federation confirmed Tuesday.

Both events will be held at Le Golf National in Paris, France. The 72-hole, stroke-play men’s event will take place Aug. 1-4 and the women’s (same format) will be held Aug. 7-10. These are the 60 players in the field for both events:


Emiliano Grillo Argentina
Alejandro Tosti Argentina
Jason Day Australia
Min Woo Lee Australia
Sepp Straka Austria
Thomas Detry Belgium
Adrien Dumont de Chassart Belgium
Nick Taylor Canada
Corey Conners Canada
Joaquin Niemann Chile
Mito Pereira Chile
Zecheng Dou China
Carl Yuan China
Kevin Yu Chinese Taipei
C.T. Pan Chinese Taipei
Camilo Villegas Colombia
Nico Echavarria Colombia
Nicolai Højgaard Denmark
Thorbjørn Olesen Denmark
Sami Valimaki Finland
Tapio Pulkkanen Finland
Matthieu Pavon France
Victor Perez France
Stephan Jaeger Germany
Matti Schmid Germany
Tommy Fleetwood Great Britain
Matthew Fitzpatrick Great Britain
Shubhankar Sharma India
Gaganjeet Bhullar India
Rory McIlroy Ireland
Shane Lowry Ireland
Matteo Manassero Italy
Guido Migliozzi Italy
Hideki Matsuyama Japan
Keita Nakajima Japan
Gavin Green Malaysia
Abraham Ancer Mexico
Carlos Ortiz Mexico
Ryan Fox New Zealand
Daniel Hillier New Zealand
Viktor Hovland Norway
Kris Ventura Norway
Fabrizio Zanotti Paraguay
Adrian Meronk Poland
Rafael Campos Puerto Rico
Tom Kim Republic of Korea
Byeong Hun An Republic of Korea
Christiaan Bezuidenhout South Africa
Erik van Rooyen South Africa
Jon Rahm Spain
David Puig Spain
Ludvig Åberg Sweden
Alex Noren Sweden
Joel Girrbach Switzerland
Kiradech Aphibarnrat Thailand
Phachara Khongwatmai Thailand
Scottie Scheffler United States of America
Xander Schauffele United States of America
Wyndham Clark United States of America
Collin Morikawa United States of America


Hannah Green Australia
Minjee Lee Australia
Emma Spitz Austria
Sarah Schober Austria
Manon De Roey Belgium
Brooke M. Henderson Canada
Alena Sharp Canada
Ruoning Yin China
Xiyu Lin China
Peiyun Chien Chinese Taipei
Wei-Ling Hsu Chinese Taipei
Mariajo Uribe Colombia
Klara Davidson Spilkova Czech Republic
Sara Kouskova Czech Republic
Emily Kristine Pedersen Denmark
Nanna Koerstz Madsen Denmark
Ursula Wikstrom Finland
Noora Komulainen Finland
Celine Boutier France
Perrine Delacour France
Esther Henseleit Germany
Alexandra Forsterling Germany
Charley Hull Great Britain
Georgia Hall Great Britain
Aditi Ashok India
Diksha Dagar India
Leona Maguire Ireland
Stephanie Meadow Ireland
Alessandra Fanali Italy
Yuka Saso Japan
Miyu Yamashita Japan
Ashley Lau Malaysia
Gaby Lopez Mexico
Maria Fassi Mexico
Ines Laklalech Morocco
Anne van Dam Netherlands
Lydia Ko New Zealand
Celine Borge Norway
Madelene Stavnar Norway
Bianca Pagdanganan Philippines
Dottie Ardina Philippines
Jin Young Ko Republic of Korea
Amy Yang Republic of Korea
Hyo-Joo Kim Republic of Korea
Shannon Tan Singapore
Pia Babnik Slovenia
Ana Belac Slovenia
Ashleigh Buhai South Africa
Paula Reto South Africa
Carlota Ciganda Spain
Azahara Munoz Spain
Maja Stark Sweden
Linn Grant Sweden
Albane Valenzuela Switzerland
Morgane Metraux Switzerland
Atthaya Thitikul Thailand
Patty Tavatanakit Thailand
Nelly Korda United States of America
Lilia Vu United States of America
Rose Zhang United States of America

While qualifying for both events ended several weeks ago, each National Olympic Committee (NOC) had to confirm its qualifiers, the IGF stated. That process concluded on June 27 with all unused quota places reallocated based on the official qualification system.

The Netherlands was the only country to deny qualified athletes spots. Dutch Olympic officials did not allow Joost Luiten and Darius van Driel on the men’s side and Dewi Weber on the women’s to compete, in the belief that they would not have a reasonable chance to finish among the top eight in their respective events.

Anne van Dam, the highest ranked male or female Dutch player, was allowed to represent the Netherlands.

Luiten won a litigation hearing on July 2 that he thought would allow him to compete in France but the IGF said in a Tuesday statement that his spot (as well as the other two) had been reallocated based on the June 27 deadline and the International Olympic Committee would not increase the field size to accommodate the Dutch player.

Source link

You may also like